See Ya Later, Summer!

See ya later, summer

It’s snowing in Calgary today. I shouldn’t be surprised – Calgary weather is volatile at the best of times, but it really does hammer home the point that my favourite season is over. This year things are a bit different, because the beginning of fall means the beginning of a huge adventure for Zevi and me, but I’m always a little bit sad to see summer say goodbye. Fall has its beauties, but I’m never the one leading the cheering section when Pumpkin Spice Lattes and yellow leaves start to make their appearance. All good things must come to an end, though, and for us we’re about to embark on something even better!

Container Bar Calgary

Checking out a new addition to the Calgary scene, Container Bar, with my sister

Ladies at Alanna's bachelorette

Beautiful ladies at one of my besties‘ bachelorette party

We were very lucky this summer to have the chance to spend lots of time with friends and family both in town and away from the city. We continued our yearly tradition of camping in Drumheller with friends on a very hot weekend in July – the landscape in the area is so striking and different from most anything I’ve ever seen. Sometimes I forget how much beauty we have right in our own back yard!

Drumheller landscape

Drumheller views

Naomi and Erin in Drumheller

Our dirty little puppy

Summer adventures make for a dirty puppy

Drumheller

Calgary Folk Fest has become another summer tradition for us, and is always one of the weekends I look forward to most all year. I can’t resist buying tickets no matter who’s playing, and it never disappoints. There’s just something about the atmosphere – everyone is so relaxed and laid back and just happy to be enjoying some beautiful tunes in the great outdoors. It somehow manages to be a welcoming place for people of all ages and just feels to me like a little oasis in the midst of the hustle and bustle of our busy downtown.  The food is top notch, the beer gardens are a riot, and I always manage to reunite with friends that I haven’t seen in much too long. I’ll be back next year!

Calgary Folk Fest with Zevi

The best Folk Fest partner

The best of times at Calgary Folk Fest

Great friends call for epic selfies

Taiko Taco at Calgary Folk Fest

We tried one of Calgary’s newest food trucks, Taiko Taco!

Our summer was capped off by a wonderful trip to BC, with stops at my family’s cabin in the Shuswap, in Kelowna for our good friends’ wedding, and in Victoria to visit family. It was a wonderful trip in so many ways, and being able to spend so much quality time with family and friends left my heart so full. I had no idea that being a bridesmaid in a wedding would be such a blast, but I had an absolutely amazing time standing up next to one of my best friends as she said her I dos. It was really great to have time to connect with many of the people we love, especially since Zevi and I will be venturing off on our own for three months.

Shuswap mornings

Morning lake view

Pina Coladas at the Shuswap

If you like pina coladas…

Boating on the Shuswap

My parents and our friends at the Shuswap

Wedding party selfie

Wedding party selfie!

We had lots of fun times just being in the city during this season. Calgary is a great place to be in the summer – patios are always full and there is always something going on. I am sad to see the summer slip away, but I can’t wait until we take off tomorrow night for South America!

On the patio at Posto for our Anniversary dinner

On the patio at Posto for our Anniversary dinner

Picnic in the park

One thought on “See Ya Later, Summer!

  1. A says:

    There aware two seriously epic selfies in this post and so many good memories. We are so lucky!! Can’t wait to see your updates from SA.

Leave a Reply

